Brunching at Ormsby in the Westside Provisions District

Shrimp and Grits

Shrimp and Grits

On my quest to find interesting places to brunch in Atlanta, an invitation to Ormsby’s located in Westside Provisions District in West Midtown made its way into my inbox. I’d heard of the restaurant and had yet to make my way there. They have recently started serving brunch, so I quickly accepted the invite and made my way to the restaurant with my friend Kina in tow.

IMG_1934

Ormsby’s has a vibe that is very chill and relaxed. Similar to the feel of walking into your favorite neighborhood tavern. It is a  2-story restaurant with a game room located on the lower level featuring games like backgammon and pool to name a couple.

The menu for brunch isn’t extremely large but the dishes and drinks stand out. As we looked over the menu, we ordered the blackberry ginger bourbon iced tea made with virgil kane, ginger, bourbon, muddled blackberries and topped off with iced tea. The drink was refreshing, but I didn’t taste much of the bourbon.

IMG_1953

Corned Beef

Kina decided to order the braised corned beef with potato hash, sunny side up eggs and steamed cabbage. The corn beef was seasoned well and was flavorful and tender. I also liked that the sides were potatoes and cabbage which made this feel heavier the normal brunch dishes, which isn’t a bad thing especially if you’ve had a long night. This dish is also unique as I haven’t seen corn beef or cabbage on a brunch menu at many places.

Salmon Croquette Benedict

Salmon Croquettes Benedict

I grew up eating salmon croquettes for breakfast on the weekends, so I decided to take a stroll down memory lane and order the salmon croquettes benedict, that was served with scrambled eggs (instead of poached), wilted spinach on an English muffin topped with hollandaise and served with a side of chipotle cheddar grits. The croquettes were awesome. The portion size was great and they weren’t overly seasoned, but the hollandaise added some flavor. The chipotle cheddar grits were creamy and smokey which is a different flavor than what you would expect for grits. I would go back for this dish for sure.

IMG_1941

My favorite on the brunch menu that is an absolute must try for anyone that visits the restaurant, is the shrimp and grits with roasted red peppers, caramelized onions and a cream sherry sauce. It’s not your normal tomato based variation (thank goodness). The sherry cream sauce added a creaminess that I loved which made it rich and the flavors of the roasted red peppers flowed through out. I’ve had a lot of shrimp and grits in my day and this one is definitely in my top favorites.

Thank you to Ormsby’s and Chef Scotley Innis for an amazing brunch! I can’t wait to return to try some other dishes and to enjoy cocktails in the game room 🙂

Ormsby’s

1170 Howell Mill Rd.

Atlanta Ga. 30318

Parking: Free

Until next time…Happy Eating!! xoxo -Milla

*This meal was complimentary, but all opinions expressed are my own 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

